Archive for September, 2009

Yoga Information Sheet

September 25, 2009

Yoga Information Sheet

Yoga brings you balance, strength and flexibility

• Everyone is welcome

• Wear loose, comfy clothes that are easy to move in

• Yoga is done in bare feet, no shoes, no socks

• Bring a mat or towel

• Yoga is generally done on an empty stomach

• Yoga is not a competition, not even with yourself

• Please alert instructor to any medical problems or issues

Health Benefits of Yoga

Yoga unites the mind, the body, and the spirit. It helps you become more aware of your body’s posture, alignment and movement. It makes you more flexible and helps you relax even in the midst of stress.

Yoga is a science that has been practiced for thousands of years. 
Anyone can do yoga regardless of age, health, or physical fitness. 
Yoga is noncompetitive & process-oriented.

Yoga Can Help:

• Weight                             • Sleep                              • Mood

• Immunity                        • Concentration             • Memory

• Flexibility                        • Coordination               • Posture

• Balance                            • Strength                       • Energy

• Pain                                  • Anxiety                        • Depression

• Blood Pressure               • Pulse Rate                  • Respiratory Rate


Find a class schedule on
Become a FaceBook Fan
Follow Second Star To The Right Yoga on Twitter

The Eight Limbs of Raja Yoga

September 25, 2009

Compiled by Patanjali in the Yoga Sutras, the Eight Limbs are a progressive series of steps or disciplines which purify the body and mind, to enlightenment.

1. Yamas- Restraints
“Do unto others as you would have them do unto you.”

The five Yamas are:

Ahimsa: nonviolence, non-harming

Satya: truthfulness

Asteya: nonstealing

Brahmacharya: Moderation

Aparigraha: Non-attachment, Non-possessiveness

2. Niyama– Observances
Self-discipline and spiritual observances.

The five Niyamas are:

Saucha: cleanliness, Purity

Santosa: contentment

Tapas: dicipline, austerity

Svadhyaya: study of the sacred scriptures and of one’s self

Isvara pranidhana: surrender to God, awareness of the divine

3. Asana– evolution of your personal practice
Asanas, the postures practiced in yoga.

View Asana Posts HERE

4. Pranayama– Breathing
Breath control

View Pranayama Posts HERE

5. Pratyahara– Drawing senses inward (prepares us for dharana)
Withdrawal or sensory transcendence, the conscious effort to draw our awareness away from the external world and outside stimuli.

6. Dharana– concentration (prepares us for Dhyana)
dealing with the distractions of the mind itself.

7. Dhyana- Meditation or contemplation (leads to Samadhi)
The uninterrupted flow of concentration.

View Meditation Posts HERE

8. Samadhi– Superconsciousness
One with everything

See all the 8 Limbs of Yoga Posts HERE
Become a FaceBook Fan
Follow Second Star To The Right Yoga on Twitter

Yoga Terms Sheet

September 25, 2009

NAMASTE – “I bow to the divine in you”. Namaste is a traditional Indian greeting of respect and thank you, with spiritual and symbol meaning. This is done with your palms pressed together in the middle of your forehead (third eye) or at your heart, and lightly bow your head and shoulders.

“The light and love in me honors the light and love in you”

SHANTI– peace or tranquility in Sanskrit. This inner peace is chanted to prevent curses and bad karma. Often, this is repeated three times after a prayer in order to achieve spiritual serenity.

ASANAS-Yoga Postures.  Asanas are gentle stretching movements designed to help balance the mind and body.

DRISHTI – focus of the eyes

HATHA YOGA – most popular branch of Yoga and from which a lot of the Styles of Yoga originated including Power Yoga, Bikram Yoga, Ashtanga Yoga and Kundalini Yoga.

VINYASA – one of the Principles of Ashtanga Yoga. Vinyasa, which means breathing and movement, is for internal cleansing.

UJJAYI – Loud Breathing, this involves drawing air in through both nostrils with the glottis held partially closed. Ujjayi is translated as “what clears the throat and masters the chest area.

PRANAYAMA – Yoga Breathing or Breathing Exercise, Pranayama is one of the Five Principles of Yoga which promotes proper breathing.

PRANA – Life energy, life force, or life current. The Chinese call this life force chi.

OM – or “aum”, a single-sound mantra that signifies the unification of the body, mind and spirit. This is an ancient Indian chant where the whole world was created and radiates. Om is also the vibration symbolizing Brahman. It was said that enlightenment and unification with the Supreme Being can be attained through this natural sound.

MUDRA – symbolic gesture transmitting or redirecting energy in yoga or meditation. This can be a whole-body gesture or a hand gesture, like pressing your palms together.

MEDITATION – This is one of the Five Principles of Yoga. It is the practice by which there is constant observation of the mind. It requires you to focus your mind at one point and stilling the mind in order to perceive the self.

MANTRA – A sacred mystic syllable, word or verse used in meditation and japa to quiet the mind, balance the inner body and attain other desired aims.

CHAKRA – Sanskrit for “wheels.” A center of radiating life force or energy that is located between the base of the spinal column and the crown of the head. There are seven chakras.

TADASANA – Mountain Pose

SANKALPA– resolve, determination, good intention

Where I am currently teaching

September 25, 2009
Yoga teaching Schedule

Yoga teaching Schedule

Yoga Balance Poses

September 23, 2009

Asanas For Balance


Affirmation for Abundance:
I give thanks, now, for all that I have;
the seen and the unseen that are already mine.

Alternate Nostril Breath

Warm up

Sunflower Breath

Downward Facing Dog – Adho Mukha Svanasana

Chair – Utkatasana, lift up on toes

Crescent Moon – Ashta Chandrasana

Tree – Vrksasana

Standing, Knee to chest – Apanasana

Dancer – Natarajasana

Warrior III – Virabhadrasana III

Half Moon Pose – Ardha Chandrasana

Revolved Half Moon Pose – Parivrtta Ardha Chandrasana

Horse Pose– Vatayanasana

Squat to Sit

To begin a harvest meditation sit straight, eyes closed, hands in lap and take a few even breaths – breathe in 4 counts; breathe out 4 counts; breathe in 4…

Autumnal Equinox

September 21, 2009

Autumnal Equinox
equinox – equal , nox night
September 22, 2009

An Equinox occurs twice a year when (at the equator) there is exactly 12 hour of light, and 12 hours of darkness. It’s considered a day of perfect balance. It is believed that on the Equinoxes, an egg can be balanced on its end.

Equinox Traditions:

Japanese celebration: higan. They visit the family grave, and bring flowers and food, burning incense sticks, and praying.

Polish celebration: Feast of Greenery. Priest bless food & bouquets then these are used for.

Roman celebration was dedicated to Pomona, goddess of fruits and growing things. Foods were seasoned with ginger.

England, a doll was made from the last sheaf of corn harvested. It represented the `spirit of the field’. The dolls were drenched with water representing rain or burned to represent the death of the grain spirit.

Today’s Autumn, harvest time, is perfect to reflect on what we have in our lives.

To begin a harvest meditation sit straight, eyes closed, hands in lap and take a few even breaths – breathe in 4 counts; breathe out 4 counts; breathe in 4…

Journal Exercises:
List things you are grateful for
List things you want to bring into your life
List things you would like to release from your life

Affirmation for abundance:
I give thanks, now, for all that I have; the seen and the unseen that are already mine.

More Calendar Theme Yoga Poses
Become a FaceBook Fan
Follow on Twitter