I wanna be the one to walk in the sun – Cyndi Lauper an empowering feminist for a 10 year old

I went to see Cyndi Lauper (and Dr John) on Saturday (102211) at the Sovereign Performing Arts Center in Reading, PA.

I was in 5th grade when Cyndi Lauper hit big in my world.  It was 1984-1985, feathered hair was in and “She’s so Unusual” made a huge impact on my life.  It was one of the first Albums I owned on my own AND her album cover looked like I felt.

Around the same time (1984), I learned that in some cultures women have to walk behind men.  For some reason Cyndi Lauper’s song “Girls Just Wanna have Fun‘s” lyricI wanna be the one to walk in the sun” stuck in my head as a feminist slogan.  I remember thinking I will Always be the one to walk in the sun!

She Bop” was released on February 17, 1984 the day before my 10th birthday.  I loved the song “She Bop.”  I played it and sang it over and over.  My mother asked me if I knew that the song was about masturbation …. I did not!  In fact I had no idea what masturbation was, but from then on “She Bop” was a secret dirty pleasure.  I didn’t know why, or what it meant, but I knew it probably had to do with sex and that was bad. (I also had no idea what sex was at the time).

All of a sudden this song that was fun and happy sounding, catchy and danceable, the type of song you stand on your bed singing into your hairbrush in front of a mirror, turned into something to listen to in secret.

This was the beginning of something sexual and secret for me. I wasn’t quite sure how or why, but I knew this was a turning point in my life.  It was a loss of innocence, a step into adulthood.  A life changing event.

In fact, this was the time when the music industry changed, “She Bop” was considered controversial because of the masturbation references. It was included on the “Filthy Fifteen” list which led to the creation of the Parental Advisory sticker.

Saturday was the first time I got to see Cyndi Lauper live.  At 58 years old (06.22.53) she was still full of energy.  She is still empowering.  She still inspires me.  Rock on Cyndi!

More SecondStarToTheRightYoga Articles HERE

www.SecondStarToTheRightYoga.com
Become a FaceBook Fan
Follow on Twitter

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “I wanna be the one to walk in the sun – Cyndi Lauper an empowering feminist for a 10 year old”

  1. Josh Says:

    Cyndi Lauper Rules! What a great lady! The world needs more people like her!

Leave a Reply

