Archive for the ‘Yoga Terms’ Category

Chandra Namaskara B (Moon Salutation B)

December 6, 2011

Mountain Pose (Tadasana)

Inhale Arms up, Exhale fold forward, Inhale look up

Exhale, Step LEFT foot back into a lunge and drop your left knee, arms up, hands in prayer (modified Crescent lunge)

Exhale lower arms and step Right leg back into Down Dog

Inhale drop knees in Table (look up)

Exhale into child’s pose (balasana)

Inhale tall kneel, arms in the air (hips off heels)

Exhale child’s pose with elbows next to your ears and hands in prayer behind your head (Praying child’s pose) hold

Release your arms, palms to the floor

Inhale slide chest forward into upward-facing dog

Exhale into Down Dog

Inhale Left foot forward; drop right knee arms up (modified crescent lunge)

Step your right foot forward into a standing forward fold

Inhale look up, Exhale fold forward

Inhale back up into tadasana

Repeat on the other side.  One round of Chandra Namaskar B

See Moon Salutation A (Chandra Namaskar) Post Here

Vistit: Second Star To The Right Yoga

Become a FaceBookFan

Follow Second Star To The Right Yoga on Twitter

Yoga Terms Sheet

September 25, 2009

NAMASTE – “I bow to the divine in you”. Namaste is a traditional Indian greeting of respect and thank you, with spiritual and symbol meaning. This is done with your palms pressed together in the middle of your forehead (third eye) or at your heart, and lightly bow your head and shoulders.

“The light and love in me honors the light and love in you”

SHANTI– peace or tranquility in Sanskrit. This inner peace is chanted to prevent curses and bad karma. Often, this is repeated three times after a prayer in order to achieve spiritual serenity.

ASANAS-Yoga Postures.  Asanas are gentle stretching movements designed to help balance the mind and body.

DRISHTI – focus of the eyes

HATHA YOGA – most popular branch of Yoga and from which a lot of the Styles of Yoga originated including Power Yoga, Bikram Yoga, Ashtanga Yoga and Kundalini Yoga.

VINYASA – one of the Principles of Ashtanga Yoga. Vinyasa, which means breathing and movement, is for internal cleansing.

UJJAYI – Loud Breathing, this involves drawing air in through both nostrils with the glottis held partially closed. Ujjayi is translated as “what clears the throat and masters the chest area.

PRANAYAMA – Yoga Breathing or Breathing Exercise, Pranayama is one of the Five Principles of Yoga which promotes proper breathing.

PRANA – Life energy, life force, or life current. The Chinese call this life force chi.

OM – or “aum”, a single-sound mantra that signifies the unification of the body, mind and spirit. This is an ancient Indian chant where the whole world was created and radiates. Om is also the vibration symbolizing Brahman. It was said that enlightenment and unification with the Supreme Being can be attained through this natural sound.

MUDRA – symbolic gesture transmitting or redirecting energy in yoga or meditation. This can be a whole-body gesture or a hand gesture, like pressing your palms together.

MEDITATION – This is one of the Five Principles of Yoga. It is the practice by which there is constant observation of the mind. It requires you to focus your mind at one point and stilling the mind in order to perceive the self.

MANTRA – A sacred mystic syllable, word or verse used in meditation and japa to quiet the mind, balance the inner body and attain other desired aims.

CHAKRA – Sanskrit for “wheels.” A center of radiating life force or energy that is located between the base of the spinal column and the crown of the head. There are seven chakras.

TADASANA – Mountain Pose

SANKALPA– resolve, determination, good intention