Posts Tagged ‘shanti’

WORLD PEACE DAY NOVEMBER 17 Celebrate with a Peaceful Yoga Practice

November 16, 2011

Shanti, Santhi or Shanthi (from Sanskrit शान्तिःmeans peace, rest, calmness, tranquility, or bliss)

In honor of World Peace Day, try a Peaceful Yoga Practice:

Begin in Salutation Seal (Anjali Mudra or Hrdayanjali Mudra) for a few minutes of Centering:
Come to a comfortable seated pose, bring your hands together in Prayer Position at Heart’s Center.
Insure your hands and fingers line up, press your hands together gently.
Bow head slightly

Try chanting the Buddhist Compassion Mantra  ” OM MANI PADME HUM” (translation: ‘Hail the jewel in the lotus’)

Switch the cross of your legs for balance

Do a few Cat & Cow Stretches to warm up your spine

Rainbow Side Stretch (each side)

Seated Twist (both sides)

Transition into table,

Thread the needle stretch (each side)

Down Dog, Walk the Dog

Rag Doll

Recenter, perhaps repeat ” OM MANI PADME HUM”  (3x’s)

Active Crescent Moon Side Stretch

Come to the top of your mat
*Beginning Sun Salutation A to Down Dog

Step your Right Foot forward into Lunge
Bring your Left hand to your left hip, Left Heel rotates Down to the mat,
Invert your Right hand (Palm Facing Up),
Inhale into Peaceful Warrior (variation of Warrior 1)-hold for a few breaths

Straighten your Right Leg, turn hips and torso to the left side and add a mini side stretch toward your back leg,
Peaceful Triangle (variation of Triangle)-hold for a few breaths

Inhale back to torso center

Exhale and transition into Lunge (Right Foot forward)
One hand on either side of your front foot, up on your back toes or down on your back knee.

Step your Left Foot next to your Right foot

Look up with a flat back,

Exhale Fold Forward

Inhale reverse Swan Dive Back to Tadasana

Repeat from * with Left Leg forward

Half Moon Balance (Modification:  Hold Left Foot with Left Hand) -each side


Yoga Squat


Down Dog 

Child’s Pose

Roll to Sit
Fish Pose
Knees to Chest
Bridge or Wheel
Happy Baby
Rotated Stomach Posture

Savasana-” OM MANI PADME HUM”  (3x’s)






Peaceguy’s Prayer

May the people on this planet be changed.
Changed from hatred to love,
Changed from greed to giving,
Changed from selfishness to selflessness,
Changed from apathy to action,
Changed from jealousy to joy over someone’s accomplishments,
Changed from intolerance to acceptance,
Changed from being destructive to being constructive,
Changed from fighting to peace,
Changed from killing to protecting life,
Changed from censorship to freedom,
Changed from ignorance to education,
Changed from fearing our differences to rejoicing our variety.

May we each take it upon ourselves to feed the hungry, cure the sick,
house the homeless, educate the illiterate, love the unloved,
compete to do the right thing instead of winning at any cost,
make heros that teach our children to
make the world a better place instead of glorifying violence and war,
stand up and speak out against things that are wrong
instead of sitting back and waiting for someone else,
demand honesty from our governments,
demand honesty from ourselves.

May we each take responsibility for our own actions
and realize that by refusing to change ourselves,
we condone all the evils in the world.
If one person changes they teach others by example,
who in turn change and teach more,
one person becomes as a pebble rolling down a mountain,
picking up more pebbles as it continues,
becoming an avalanche of change.
It can happen, it must happen, it will happen.

(To make this prayer work, you have to change yourself. 
Copyright 1997 Don Morris. Feel free to use this anywhere and any place. All I ask is to reference this website if you do.)

LEARN MORE about Peace Guy’s Mission HERE 

 Please note International Peace Dayis always celebrated on September 21.

More Calendar Theme Yoga Poses
Become a FaceBook Fan
Follow Second Star To The Right Yoga on Twitter

Yoga Terms Sheet

September 25, 2009

NAMASTE – “I bow to the divine in you”. Namaste is a traditional Indian greeting of respect and thank you, with spiritual and symbol meaning. This is done with your palms pressed together in the middle of your forehead (third eye) or at your heart, and lightly bow your head and shoulders.

“The light and love in me honors the light and love in you”

SHANTI– peace or tranquility in Sanskrit. This inner peace is chanted to prevent curses and bad karma. Often, this is repeated three times after a prayer in order to achieve spiritual serenity.

ASANAS-Yoga Postures.  Asanas are gentle stretching movements designed to help balance the mind and body.

DRISHTI – focus of the eyes

HATHA YOGA – most popular branch of Yoga and from which a lot of the Styles of Yoga originated including Power Yoga, Bikram Yoga, Ashtanga Yoga and Kundalini Yoga.

VINYASA – one of the Principles of Ashtanga Yoga. Vinyasa, which means breathing and movement, is for internal cleansing.

UJJAYI – Loud Breathing, this involves drawing air in through both nostrils with the glottis held partially closed. Ujjayi is translated as “what clears the throat and masters the chest area.

PRANAYAMA – Yoga Breathing or Breathing Exercise, Pranayama is one of the Five Principles of Yoga which promotes proper breathing.

PRANA – Life energy, life force, or life current. The Chinese call this life force chi.

OM – or “aum”, a single-sound mantra that signifies the unification of the body, mind and spirit. This is an ancient Indian chant where the whole world was created and radiates. Om is also the vibration symbolizing Brahman. It was said that enlightenment and unification with the Supreme Being can be attained through this natural sound.

MUDRA – symbolic gesture transmitting or redirecting energy in yoga or meditation. This can be a whole-body gesture or a hand gesture, like pressing your palms together.

MEDITATION – This is one of the Five Principles of Yoga. It is the practice by which there is constant observation of the mind. It requires you to focus your mind at one point and stilling the mind in order to perceive the self.

MANTRA – A sacred mystic syllable, word or verse used in meditation and japa to quiet the mind, balance the inner body and attain other desired aims.

CHAKRA – Sanskrit for “wheels.” A center of radiating life force or energy that is located between the base of the spinal column and the crown of the head. There are seven chakras.

TADASANA – Mountain Pose

SANKALPA– resolve, determination, good intention